

NEWS RELEASE

June 22, 2018

Contact: Dustin Chase, Communications Director (727) 464-4988 or dchase@votepinellas.com

35 Pinellas County Candidates Qualified

The Pinellas County Supervisor of Elections confirms 35 candidates completed their qualifying requirements for county office during this week's qualifying period. Seven candidates made ballot position by collecting petition signatures (*); all other candidates paid the designated qualifying fee.

The following candidates qualified this week:

Board of County Commissioners, District 2 - At Large	Patricia "Pat" Gerard (DEM)
Board of County Commissioners, District 4 - Single Member	Dave Eggers (REP)*
Board of County Commissioners, District 6 - Single Member	Larry Ahern (REP)
Board of County Commissioners, District 6 - Single Member	Barb Haselden (REP)*
Board of County Commissioners, District 6 - Single Member	Kathleen Peters (REP)*
Board of County Commissioners, District 6 - Single Member	Amy Kedron (DEM)

School Board Member, District 2 - At Large	Lisa N. Cane (NP)
School Board Member, District 2 - At Large	Terry Benjamin Krassner (NP)
School Board Member, District 2 - At Large	Jeff Larsen (NP)
School Board Member, District 3 - At Large	Nicole Carr (NP)
School Board Member, District 3 - At Large	Peggy O'Shea (NP)
School Board Member, District 3 - At Large	Carl "Z" Zimmermann (NP)
School Board Member, District 6 - Single Member	Bill Dudley (NP)
School Board Member, District 6 - Single Member	Lorena Grizzle (NP)
School Board Member, District 6 - Single Member	Matt Stewart (NP)
School Board Member, District 7 - Single Member	Tharius K. Bethel (NP)
School Board Member, District 7 - Single Member	René Flowers (NP)
School Board Member, District 7 - Single Member	Bilan Joseph (NP)
School Board Member, District 7 - Single Member	Nicholas Wright (NP)

East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 2	Maryellen Crowder (NP)*
East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 2	Tom McKone (NP)*
East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 2	Tom "Steve" McQueen (NP)
East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 2	Peter Nehr (NP)
East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 4	Randy Burr (NP)
East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 4	Tom May (NP)
Lealman Special Fire Control District, Seat 2	Kathleen Quinn Litton (NP)
Lealman Special Fire Control District, Seat 4	Gary Coffman (NP)
Lealman Special Fire Control District, Seat 4	Rebecca Harriman (NP)
Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District, Seat 2	Patrick Bengston (NP)
Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District, Seat 2	Julie Peluso (NP)*
Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District, Seat 4	James Angle (NP)*
Pinellas Suncoast Fire & Rescue District, Seat 3	David D. Gardella (NP)
Pinellas Suncoast Fire & Rescue District, Seat 4	Joseph Bruni (NP)
Clearwater Cay Community Development District, Seat 3	Don Dwyer (NP)
Clearwater Cay Community Development District, Seat 4	Patrick S. O'Malley (NP)

The following county contests will be included in the August 28 Primary Election:

- Board of County Commissioners, District 6—Single Member
- Nonpartisan contest for School Board Member District 2—At Large, District 3—At Large, District 6 -Single Member, District 7—Single Member

Reminder: Florida is a "closed primary" state. Only voters registered with a political party can vote in that party's Primary Election.

For nonpartisan contests, if no candidate wins the majority of the vote in the race (50% plus one vote), the two candidates receiving the most votes will be in a runoff on the November 6 General Election ballot. All special district contests will appear on the November 6 General Election ballot. Unopposed candidates will not appear on the ballot.

Statewide, the qualifying period for all state, multicounty, county and special district candidates began at noon Monday (June 18) and ended at noon today (June 22). Candidates for federal, state and multicounty offices qualify with the Division of Elections: http://dos.elections.myflorida.com/candidates/.

For information on Pinellas County candidates and the August 28 Primary Election, visit VotePinellas.com.

#

Note: NPA = No Party Affiliation; NP = Nonpartisan; WRI = Write-In candidate



